

## **Animal Behavior Management Alliance**

Annual Member Business Meeting Agenda April 15, 2014 Dallas, TX

- I. Call to order at 12:20 pm CST by Heather Leeson.
- II. Minutes recorded by Christine McKnight.
- III. Opening comments (Heather Leeson)

IV. Acceptance of the minutes from the 2013 member business meeting.MOTION made by Heather Leeson to accept the 2013 member business meeting minutes, having been reviewed in advance. Second made by Genevieve Warner.Motion passed by unanimous consent.

- V. Board reports
  - A. President report (Heather Leeson)
  - B. CFO report (Susie Ekard, on behalf of Nicki Boyd)
    - i. 2013 Financial report. Total income for 2013 was \$113,128.50. Total expenses for 2013 were \$103,309.12 resulting in a net of \$8,819.38. Income included \$130.50 in interest, \$1934.00 from merchandise, \$90,504.00 from the conference and \$19,560.00 in membership fees. Expenses included \$4,506.98 for bank/credit card fees, \$1747.44 in accounting/admin costs, \$1013.32 for merchandise, \$1445.12 in taxes, \$80,798.00 for the conference, \$817.00 for insurance, \$570.00 in advertising, \$7,411.26 for website costs, \$2,000.00 in sponsorship to Twycross and \$3,000.00 for Cypherworx webinar development.
  - C. Past President (H. Leeson on behalf of Emily Insalaco)
    - i. Election results
      - 1. Review of election process
      - 2. Incoming board members as a result of the 2013-2014 election:
    - Susie Ekard, Scott Trauger, Missy Lamar and Jay Tacey.
  - D. President Elect (Margaret Rousser)
    - i. Program Council Chair introductions

- 1. Behavior Management Fund- Michelle Farmerie, Genevieve Warner
- 2. Conference- Kirstin Anderson Hanson
- 3. Conference Content Advisory- Megan Phillips,
- 4. Conference Proceedings- Jennifer Hickman, Sam Smith
- 5. Education- Missy Lamar
- 6. Government Affairs- Otto Fad
- 7. Honors and Awards- Jennifer Hennessey, Scott Trauger
- 8. Membership- Amy Schilz
- 9. Merchandise- Susie Ekard
- 10. Nominations and Elections- Heather Leeson
- 11. Public Affairs- Margaret Rousser
- 12. Publication- Heidi Hellmuth
- 13. Research and Evaluation- Darren Minier
- 14. Site Selection- Kelly Elkins
- 15. Sponsorship- Cathy Schlott
- 16. Website- Heather Leeson
- 1<sup>st</sup> VP (Jennifer Hickman)
  - i. Thank you to all our sponsors
  - ii. Thank you to our conference hosts
  - iii. Conservation project support This year's conference supported cheetah conservation with the purchase of the cheetah notebooks in your conference bags.
- E. 2<sup>nd</sup> VP (Annette Pederson)
  - i. Announce 2015 conference in Denmark April 13-18. Note the conference runs Tuesday through Saturday.
- F. Announce 2016 conference in Tampa (Heather Leeson, Margaret Rousser)
- G. Secretary (Christine Mcknight)
  - Membership update Current membership includes 9 Lifetime Professional, 206 Professional, 27 Active, 79 Associate and 24 Student totaling to 345 members. 16 countries are represented: Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Hong Kong, Ireland, Israel, Netherlands, Spain, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and the United States.
- H. BMF Travel Scholarship (Cinnamon Williams)- Congratulations to travel scholarship winner Jay Tacey. Please buy raffle tickets and purchase downloads so it isn't a quiet banquet! Portion of the silent auction supports BMF.

- I. Proceedings Committee (Jennifer Hickman)-If you are presenting please email your papers so we can get the proceedings out as soon as possible.
- J. Publications Committee (Heidi Hellmuth)-Please send submissions!
- K. Conference Content Advisory Committee (Megan Phillips)
  - CEU's If you need credits for this year's conference, we were awarded 36 CEUs for IAABC, 31 for IATCB (IAATE) and for CCPDT it is 20.75 for trainers, 12.5 for behavior consultants
  - ii. CCA is looking for a co-chair.
- L. Site Selection (Kelly Elkins)
  - i. Call for host cities 2017, 2018
- VI. Old Business
  - A. CollaborNation (Heather Leeson, Susie Ekard)- All ABMA members have free access to ABMA CollaborNation. This is a huge resource that other organizations charge for. All of the *Wellspring* issues and conference proceedings are here. There is also a forum and many free webinars you can take advantage of. Instructions on how to access the site are on our website.
  - B. Animalprofessional.com- The ABMA continues to partner with AnimalProfessional.com as our A/V team for the conference. Shortly after the conference you will receive credentials to access their website for free for 1 month. They have video presentations from past ABMA conferences as well as other organizations like RAW and ICEE.
- VII. New Business
  - A. Acknowledgement of outgoing board members (Heather Leeson)- All board members serve on a volunteer basis and we thank them for their time.
    - i. Nicki Boyd
    - ii. Emily Insalaco
    - iii. Christine McKnight
    - iv. Darren Minier
    - v. Cathy Schlott
    - vi. Margaret Whittaker

<b>U</b>	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
President- Margaret Rousser	CIO- Christa Gaus
President Elect- Nicki Boyd	Director- Missy Lamar
Past President- Heather Leeson	Director- Jay Tacey

Secretary- Cinnamon Williams	Director- Jennifer Hickman
CFO- Susie Ekard	
1 <sup>st</sup> Vice President- Annette Pederson	
2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice President- Scott Trauger	

- C. Bylaws (Heather Leeson) In October the members approved revised bylaws which are available on the website.
- D. Trademark (Heather Leeson) The board is looking into trademarking our logo to allow us to sell online merchandise more securely.
- E. Website (Heather Leeson) The new website should be up by the end of the week. A lot of work has been put into the new site to make it much more user friendly and it looks great!
- F. AAZK Updates (Heather Leeson) –ABMA and AAZK are looking forward to opportunities to collaborate. Regional workshops are something we are looking at down the road. In the nearer term we are looking to share papers in our respective publications. And we are already sharing links on our websites and social media posts.
- G. Outgoing president comments (Heather Leeson)- Thank you again to all our sponsors and attendees for making this Dallas conference a success!

## VIII. Motion to adjourn

**MOTION** made to adjourn 2014 member business meeting at 12:50pm CST by Heather Leeson. Second by Kirstin Anderson Hanson. **Motion passed by unanimous consent.**