

Animal Behavior Management Alliance

Annual Member Business Meeting Minutes April 21, 2016 Tampa, Florida

- I. Call to order at 12:00pm EST by Nicki Boyd, President.
- II. Minutes recorded by Cinnamon Williams.
- III. Opening comments by Nicki Boyd, President: This is your organization, so if you have questions or have comments on things that we can improve upon do not hesitate to speak up. Your feedback is important.
- IV. Acceptance of the minutes from the 2015 member business meeting.

MOTION made by Nicki Boyd to accept the 2015 member business meeting minutes, having been reviewed in advance. Second made by Kelly Elkins. **Motion passed by unanimous consent.**

- V. Board reports
 - A. President report: Nicki Boyd: State of Affairs of the Organizations: Doing very well financially and making good financial decisions and reinvesting into the organization. Investing into the new website and giving you professional development opportunities with Collabornation. Creating a conservation fund so that we can invest and travel scholarship on a yearly basis. Our big fund raiser is the conference so we couldn't do it without your support. Membership is doing well and getting more international memberships. We are some of our best marketing tools so going back and telling you coworkers about the conference and what ABMA has to offer and why they should join is important.
 - B. CFO report: Susie Ekard
 - i. 2015 Financial report (see attached)

MOTION made by Susie Ekard to approve the 2015 financial report. Second made by Genevieve Warner. Discussion: Additional improvement of the financial report is part of the minutes and at this meeting does not need a second motion.

C. Past President Margaret Rousser

i. Election results

1. Review of election process: Call for nominations in the fall from membership. If you are interested in serving on the board or committees you will want to contact Nicki in the coming year since she will be past president. This year we had 4 open positions and 4 candidates, so this year was just approving the slate of nominees. The membership approves board members and the existing board members decide which positions are taken by each candidate.

2. Incoming board members as a result of the 2015-2016 election These are your 4 new incoming board members: Tricia Dees, Missy Lamar, Alicia Sampson, and Clint Lusardi. So your new board will look like this: Your president will be Cathy Schlott, Past President will be Nicki Boyd, President Elect will be Tricia Dees, 1st Vice President will be Kelly Elkins, 2nd Vice President will be Missy Lamar, Susie Ekard will remain our CFO, Christa Gaus will be taking over the Secretary roll, Darren Minier will be the CIO (Chief information officer), Directors at Large: Scott Trauger, Alicia Sampson, Clint Lusardi, Justin Garner, Jay Tacey.

- D. President Elect Cathy Schlott:
 - i. Program Council Chair introductions

1. Behavior Management Fund: Cinnamon Williams and Genevieve Warner

2. Conference: Alicia Sampson and Linda Castaneda

3. Conference Content Advisory: Christine McKnight and Emily Insalaco

- 4. Conference Proceedings: Jen Hickman
- 5. Education: Missy Lamar
- 6. Government Affairs: Justin Garner
- 7. Honors and Awards Jen Hennessey and Scott Trauger
- 8. Membership: Vacant
- 9. Merchandise: Susie Ekard
- 10. Nominations and Elections: Nicki Boyd
- 11. Public Affairs: Margaret Rousser
- 12. Publications: Cathy Schlott
- 13. Research and Evaluation: Clint Lusardi
- 14. Site Selection: Kelly Elkins
- 15. Sponsorship: Cathy Schlott
- 18. Website: Heather Samper
- E. 1st VP: Scott Trauger

 Thank you to all our sponsors: Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, Busch Gardens, Florida Aquarium, Brevard Zoo, Central Florida and Botanical Gardens, Santa Fe College, Clearwater Marine Aquarium, Sea World, Natural Encounters Inc., Precision Behaviors, Animal Behavior Institute, Florida Association of Zoo and Aquariums, and Tampa Bay AAZK.

ii. Thank you to our conference hosts: Busch Gardens and Tampa's Lowry Park. Florida Aquarium for a terrific ice breaker. With planning a conference it takes over 2 ½ years to do, so thanks to everyone for their hard work.

- F. 2nd VP Kelly Elkins
 - i. Announce 2017 conference in Cincinnati, OH
 - ii. Announce 2018 conference in San Antonio, TX
 - iii. Looking for tackers for 2019-2020.
- G. Secretary: Cinnamon Williams
 - Membership update: We have 427 members in 24 countries. Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Hong Kong, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Kuwait, Mexico, Netherlands, Oman, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, and U.S. Virgin Islands.
 - ii. Conference Registrants: 106 delegates that purchased weekly registration and 38 purchased daily registration. The countries representing us at this conference are Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Canada, Denmark, Netherlands, Scotland, United Kingdom and US which is proof that we are international organization and we want to reach all of our delegates.
- H. BMF Travel Scholarship Winner: Genevieve Warner Thanks to everyone who supports the raffles and silent auction this money goes to help the travel scholarship winner on a yearly basis.
- I. Proceedings Committee: Jen Hickman: Thanks to all of the presenters that have already turned in papers. We have 51 presentations this year including posters. After review all of the papers they will be put in a PDF file so that we can share them with our membership. It does take a few months to get everything done. We will get them out as soon as we can.
- J. Publications Committee: Cathy Schlott: If you are a member you received our new publication of Engage. This publication was requested by our membership and we need your participation with it. We would like for you

to submit content for the newsletter. It doesn't have to be really wordy; it could be just quick training or enrichment that you are doing. If you have cool photos, birth announcements, new exhibits, training whatever please send it to us. <u>engage@theabma.org</u>. Newsletter is only awesome because you are awesome and you send us awesome stuff.

- K. Conference Content Advisory Committee: Christine McKnight

 CEU's: We were awarded 29 CEUs for IAABC, 15 for CCPDT (15
 for trainers/15 for behavior consultants) and 30 for IATBC this year. A
 second application was submitted to IATBC for the pre-conference
 workshop and was awarded CEUs but I haven't received the number yet.
- VI. Old Business
- VII. New Business
 - A. Acknowledgement of outgoing board members Nicki Boyd-All board members serve on a volunteer basis and we thank them for their time, Cinnamon Williams, Margaret Rousser and Annette Pedersen.
 - B. Acknowledgement of 2015-2016 (*current*) board member positions: Nicki Boyd: Some of these board members are rolling back on to the board and are changing positions. These are their current positions.

	•
President- Nicki Boyd	Director- Jay Tacey
President Elect- Cathy Schlott	Director- Missy Lamar
Past President- Margaret Rousser	
Secretary- Cinnamon Williams	
CFO- Susie Ekard	
1 st Vice President- Scott Trauger	
2 nd Vice President- Kelly Elkins	

C. Outgoing president comments: Nicki Boyd

a. Reminder: This is a member run organization and would like participation and feedback from our members so that we are representing the organization as a whole. Always looking for comments can put them on the website and someone will get back to you with a response.

VIII. Motion to adjourn

MOTION made to adjourn 2016 member business meeting at pm 12:58pm EST by Nicki Boyd. Second by Gary Wilson. **Motion passed by unanimous consent.**